SPRINGHILL SUITES & TOWNEPLACE SUITES AT 1600 CANAL
Originally built in 1966 as an office building for New Orleans' booming oil industry, the historic ODECO building sat vacant for a decade after Hurricane Katrina. Campo Architects renovated the building into a dual-branded Marriott hotel. Springhill Suites is found on floors 2 through 6 and floors 7 through 13 were converted into a TownePlace Suites. The hotels share all amenities, including a lobby, bar, breakfast buffet, and Quiet Zone on the first floor. The fourteenth floor penthouse was converted to a rooftop bar and garden, providing sweeping views of the French Quarter and Mississippi River. The hotel lobby features artwork from local artists and holds monthly gallery openings.
Campo Architects worked with the Louisiana State Historic Preservation Office to get this building's iconic structure, which was the first hybrid steel and concrete skeleton in the city, listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
LOCATION: New Orleans, LA
SQ FT: 131,142
2019 Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation: Louisiana Landmarks Society